Skip to main content
English Cymraeg

Code of conduct, standing orders, and terms of reference for the FSA Board

We are a non-Ministerial government department so we are governed by a Board, rather than directly by Ministers. The Board ensures we fulfil our legal obligations so that all decisions or actions consider scientific advice and the interests of consumers.

Last updated: 24 November 2021
See all updates

Our Board is chaired by Professor Susan Jebb and has between seven and 11 other members. They are responsible for the overall strategic direction of our organisation. Day-to-day management is delegated to officials through the Chief Executive.

The Board is mainly appointed by the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care. One member is appointed by the Welsh Health Minister, and one by the Northern Ireland Health Minister.

Information about how the Board works can be found in the Code of Conduct and Standing Orders documents.

England, Northern Ireland and Wales


Committees of the FSA Board

The FSA Board appoints an Audit and Risk Assurance Committee (ARAC) and Business Committee to exercise some of its responsibilities and to advise it on others.