Contact information for wine standards inspectors

How our inspectors are organised and how to contact them.

General enquiries

For enquiries about:

  • The legal requirements relating to importing and\or wholesaling of  wine 
  • Wine labeling
  • Registering a vineyard or notifying changes to plantings  
  • Harvest or Production Declarations
  • UK Wine Schemes

please contact the Regional Wine Inspector for the area in which you are based.

 

Technical lead

Jindrich Sedlacek

Mobile 07887 825877

Emil jindrich.sedlacek@foodstandards.gsi.gov.uk

 

Wine inspection team leader for non technical enquiries

Mark Dawson

Mobile 07979387830

Email mark.dawson@foodstandards.gsi.gov.uk

Scotland

David Wilson
Tel/Fax: 07584 270337
Email: david.wilson@fss.scot

Area covered:
Scotland

Central West, Northern Ireland & North Wales

~~Temporary cover details - Please note the wine areas are currently under restructure and the areas will  change and be updated in November 2017
Brian Smith
Mobile – 07881 281 198 - Email: brian.smith@foodstandards.gsi.gov.uk
Areas covered:
Cheshire,., Staffordshire, Shropshire, West Midlands, Herefordshire, Warwickshire, Worcestershire, Northern Ireland & North Wales (Conwy, Wrexham, Denbighshire, Anglesey, Clwyd, Gwynedd, Flintshire.
 

North

Andrew Westwell
Mobile Phone 07881 281188
Email: andrew.westwell@foodstandards.gsi.gov.uk
Areas covered:
Co Durham, East Yorkshire, Lincolnshire, North Lincolnshire, North East Lincolnshire, North Yorkshire, Northumberland, Nottinghamshire, South Yorkshire, Teesside, Tyne & Wear, West Yorkshire, , Cumbria, Greater Manchester, Lancashire, Derbyshire & Merseyside

South East (higher)

Please send any queries to winestandards@foodstandards.gsi.gov.uk.

Areas covered: Bedfordshire, Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Oxfordshire , Norfolk, Suffolk, London – North of the Thames.

South East (Lower)

Matthew Dalton-Placzek
Please note that due to hearing difficulties email contact is preferred
Tel/fax: 01903 206 990
Email: matthew.dalton@foodstandards.gsi.gov.uk

Areas covered : Kent, East Sussex, West Sussex, Surrey, London – South of the Thames Temporary London inside the M25

South West and South Wales

~~Andy Kilby
Mobile: 07799476981
Email: andy.kilby@foodstandards.gsi.gov.uk
Areas covered: Cornwall, Devon, Dorset , Hampshire, Wiltshire, Gloucestershire, Somerset and Avon, Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Oxfordshire, South Wales excluding SY postcodes. Isle of Wight and Scilly Isles.
 

 

Technical, legal and enforcement policy

 enquiries from other Government Agencies, Local Authorities, wine trade bodies regarding technical, legal and enforcement policy issues relating to wine or for enquiries from abroad please contact: winestandards@foodstandards.gsi.gov.uk