Appointments to the Agency's Welsh Food Advisory Committee

The appointment of Dr Philip Hollington and Mrs Rebecca Lyne-Pirkis to the Committee has been made by Vaughan Gething, Cabinet Secretary for Health and Social Services, National Assembly for Wales, for a period of three years from 15 October 2018.

This Advisory Committee is chaired by Dr Ruth Hussey, the FSA Board member for Wales, who is appointed by the UK Government and the Welsh Government. The Committee comprises independent experts who are selected for their experience and practical knowledge of areas such as enforcement, food industry, agriculture, food-related science and consumer interests.

Dr Hussey said: 'I am delighted that Dr Philip Hollington and Mrs Rebecca Lyne-Pirkis have been appointed. Phil's experience in the agri-food industry will be great asset to the Committee and Beca will bring a wealth of experience in consumer and small business engagement. They will both better enable the Committee to provide advice to the FSA on food matters relating to Wales'.

More information about the work of the Committee and biographies for the new members can be found on the Welsh Food Advisory Committee pages.