

# **Accountability report**

The requirements of the accountability report are based on the matters required to be dealt within a Directors' Report.

## **Directors' report**

The requirements of the accountability report are based on the matters required to be dealt within a Directors' Report, as set out in Chapter 5 of Part 15 of the Companies Act 2006 and Schedule 7 of SI 2008 No 410, and in a Remuneration Report, as set out in Chapter 6 of the Companies Act 2006 and SI 2013 No. 1981.

The FSA is a non-Ministerial Government Department. Staff are accountable through a Chief Executive to the Board, rather than directly to ministers. The Board consists of a Chair, Deputy Chair and up to 12 members. The Chair and Deputy Chair are appointed by the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care in agreement with health ministers in Wales and Northern Ireland. The Board is mainly appointed by the Secretary of State for Health, with one member appointed by the Welsh Health Minister and one by the Northern Ireland Health Minister.

The Board is responsible for the overall strategic direction of the FSA, ensuring that it fulfils its legal obligations so that its decisions or actions take proper account of scientific advice, the interests of consumers and other relevant factors. Day-to-day management of the FSA is delegated to officials through the Chief Executive. In addition to the FSA Board, the FSA has advisory committees, chaired by Board members, in Wales and Northern Ireland. The role of the committee in each country is to advise the Board. The Board is required by statute to take account of their advice in its work.

## **Details of the Board and Directors**

#### The FSA Board

During the year, the membership of the non-executive FSA Board was:

Member name	Position
Professor Susan Jebb OBE, PhD, FRCP (Hon), FMedSci (Chair)	FSA Chair from July 2021
Dr Ruth Hussey CB OBE	Interim Chair from February 2021 until June 2021 Deputy Chair from July 2020
Peter Price	Chair of the Welsh Food Advisory Committee from September 2020
Colm McKenna	Chair of the Northern Ireland Advisory Committee (reappointed September 2020)
Margaret Gilmore	Board member
Mark Rolfe	Board member
Timothy Riley	Board member
Fiona Gately	Board member from June 2021
Lord Blencathra	Board member from June 2021

## **Executive Management Team**

## During the year, the membership of the Executive Management Team was:

Member name	Position
Emily Miles	Chief Executive
Steven Pollock	Acting Director of Strategy, Legal and Governance from January 2021 until July 2021
Professor Robin May	Chief Scientific Adviser
Dr Colin Sullivan	Chief Operating Officer until December 2021
Simon Tunnicliffe	Interim Director of Operations from December 2021 until March 2021
Chris Hitchen	Director of Finance and Performance until July 2021
Julie Pierce	Director of Openness, Data, Digital and Wales
Maria Jennings	Director of Regulation, Compliance, People and Northern Ireland
Rebecca Sudworth	Director of Policy
Craig Thomas	Interim Director of Finance and Performance from August 2021 from until October 2021
Pam Beadman	Director of Finance and Performance from September 2021
Katie Pettifer	Director of Strategy, Legal, Governance and Communications from July 2021
Anjali Juneja	Director of UK and International Affairs from March 2022

All senior officials have been appointed under the rules laid down by the Civil Service Commissioners. Salary and pension details of the Board and the EMT are disclosed in the Remuneration Report.

## **FSA Advisory Committees**

During the year, the membership of the food advisory committees was:

#### **Northern Ireland Member**

- Colm McKenna [Chair]
- Fiona Hanna
- Lorraine Crawford
- Cathal McDonnell
- Ellen Finlay
- Greg Irwin
- Dr Lynne McMullan
- Ciaran McCartan

#### **Wales Member**

- Peter Price [Chair]
- Alan Gardner
- Dr Philip Hollington
- Georgia Taylor
- Christopher Brereton OBE
- Helen Taylor
- Jessica Williams
- Dr John Williams

### Audit and risk assurance committee

Membership of the FSA Audit and Risk Assurance Committee:

### Non-executive members

- Colm McKenna
- Dr Ruth Hussey CB OBE
- Timothy Riley
- Margaret Gilmore
- Peter Price

## **Sections of the Accountability Report:**

Read each section of the accountability report linked in the following section:

- Management Commentary
- Statement of accounting officer's responsibilities
- FSA Governance Statement
- Remuneration report
- Staff report
- Statement of Outturn against Parliamentary Supply (SOPS)
- Parliamentary Accountability Disclosures
- The certificate and report of the Comptroller and Auditor General to the House of Commons