Rayan Patisserie recalls Assorted Baklawah due to undeclared allergens

England specific
8 February 2019

Rayan Patisserie is recalling its Assorted Baklawah because it contains milk and wheat (gluten) which are not mentioned on the label. This means the product is a possible health risk for anyone with an allergy or intolerance to milk or milk constituents and/or wheat or gluten.

Product details

Rayan Patisserie Assorted Baklawah

Pack size 200g and 500g
Best before All dates up to and including 07 May 2019

No other Rayan Patisserie products are known to be affected.

Risk statement

This product contains milk and wheat (gluten) making it a possible health risk for anyone with an allergy or intolerance milk or milk constituents and/or to wheat or gluten.

Action taken by the company

Rayan Patisserie is recalling the above product from customers and has been advised to contact the relevant allergy support organisations, which will tell their members about the recall. The company has also issued a point-of-sale notice to its customers. These notices explain to customers why the product is being recalled and tell them what to do if they have bought the product. Please see the attached notice.

Our advice to consumers

If you have bought the above product and have an allergy to milk or milk constituents and/or to wheat or gluten, do not eat it. Instead return it to the store from where it was bought for a full refund.

About allergy alerts

Sometimes there will be a problem with a food product that means it should not be sold. Then it might be 'withdrawn' (taken off the shelves) or 'recalled' (when customers are asked to return the product). Sometimes foods have to be withdrawn or recalled if there is a risk to consumers because the allergy labelling is missing or incorrect or if there is any other food allergy risk. When there is a food allergy risk, the FSA will issue an Allergy Alert.

Ref: FSA-AA-11-2019