Skip to main content

New members appointed to expanded Scientific Advisory Committees

The Chair of the Food Standards Agency (FSA) Heather Hancock has announced the appointment of 35 independent members to the FSA’s Scientific Advisory Committees.

The Scientific Advisory Committees advise on the development of policy issues that have major implications for public health and ensure that policy decisions are based on the most up-to-date science and evidence. 

Heather Hancock said: 

'We have appointed a multidisciplinary team of distinguished experts with outstanding international reputations to ensure that we are using the right science, from the right sources, and looking at every scientific dimension to the question in front of us. 

‘As we move into this period of significant change, the public can be confident any decisions made and advice issued by the FSA comes from a solid science and evidence base.’ 

Professor Guy Poppy, Chief Scientific Adviser at the FSA, said: 

‘Our Scientific Advisory Committees have never been more vital to science at the FSA. This was an unprecedented recruitment campaign to strengthen the FSA’s robust science capability and the work of all our members will make a positive impact on food policy in this country.’ 

The 35 new members come from the UK, Ireland, France and Switzerland. 

New appointments 

Advisory Committee on Microbiological Safety of Food (ACMSF) 

  • Dr Wayne Anderson, Food Safety Authority of Ireland 

  • Martin Briggs, GLW Feeds 

  • Professor Francis Butler, University College Dublin 

  • Dr Edward Fox, Northumbria University 

  • Dr Jane Gibbens, Consultant veterinary epidemiologist 

Advisory Committee on Novel Foods and Processes (ACNFP) 

  • Dr Mark Berry, independent consultant

  • Professor Harry McArdle, Rowett Research Institute, University of Aberdeen 

  • Professor Paul Fraser, School of Biological Sciences at Royal Holloway University 

  • Professor Huw Jones, Aberystwyth University 

  • Professor Clare Mills, School of Translational Medicine, University of Manchester 

  • Dr Maureen Wakefield, Fera 

Committee on Toxicity (COT)

  • Dr Stuart Adams, Waters Corporation 

  • Dr Emma Bradley, Fera 

  • Dr Allain Bueno, University of Worcester 

  • Professor Katrina Campbell, Queens University Belfast 

  • Prof. Qasim Chaudry, University of Chester 

  • Dr Gill Clare, Independent Consultant 

  • Dr Stella Cochrane, Unilever 

  • Dr Sibylle Ermler, Brunel University 

  • Dr Natalia Falagan, Cranfield University 

  • Dr Garry Hutchison, Edinburgh Napier University 

  • Professor Nicholas Jonsson, University of Glasgow 

  • Dr Gunter Kuhnle, University of Reading 

  • Dr Claude Lambre, French Institute for Health and Medical Research 

  • Dr David Lovell, St George’s Medical School, University of London 

  • Susan MacDonald, Fera 

  • Dr Olwenn Martin, Brunel University 

  • Dr Mac Provan, independent consultant 

  • Dr Martin Rose, University of Manchester 

  • Dr Michael Routledge, School of Medicine at Leeds 

  • Dr Cheryl Scudamore, Abbey Veterinary Services/NationWide Laboratories 

  • Dr Natalie Thatcher, Mondelēz International 

  • Dr Michael Walker, Office of the Government Chemist 

  • Professor John Wallace, University of Aberdeen 

  • Professor Maged Younes, Independent International Expert 


Committee on Toxicity (COT) reappointments

  • Rene Crevel, Independent Consultant - reappointed for three years

  • Dr Caroline Harris, Health Sciences Centre for Chemical Regulation and Food Safety at Exponent - reappointed for three years 

  • Dr John Thompson, Clinical Pharmacology at the Wales College of Medicine, Cardiff University - reappointed for one years

Advisory Committee on Microbiological Safety of Food (ACMSF) reappointments

  • Dr Goutam (Bob) Adak, retired 

  • Dr Roy Betts, Campben BRI  

  • Emma Hill, CHO&Co Catering Group Ltd 

  • Professor Miren Iturriza-Gómara, University of Liverpool 

  • Alec Kyriakides, J Sainsbury’s Plc 

  • Heather Lawson, Royal Borough of Greenwich

  • Dr Gwen Lowe, Consultant in Public Heath Medicine 

Joint Expert Committees 

The FSA has also created Joint Expert Groups (JEGs), that will be made up of members of COT, ACMSF and ACAF. They will be responsible for doing specialised risk assessments for regulated products, as well as overseeing and providing assurance for the risk assessment process after the UK leaves the European Union. The three groups are the: 

  • Joint Expert Group on Food Contact Materials, supporting the COT and ACMSF. It assesses and advises the committees on the safety of materials that come into contact with food during its production, processing, storage, preparation and serving. 

  • Joint Expert Group on Additives, Enzymes and Other Regulated Products, supporting the COT and ACMSF. It assesses and advises the committees on the safety of food additives, enzymes and other regulated products such as flavourings. 

  • Joint Expert Group on Animal Feed and Feed Additives supports the COT and ACAF. It assesses and advises the committees on the safety of feed additives and substances used in animal feed for both animals and human consumers of animal-derived products  

The recruitment exercise was carried out through open competition. New members have been appointed for initial terms of three years, with the possibility of reappointment.