Skip to main content
English Cymraeg

New members appointed to Scientific Advisory Committees

The Chair of the Food Standards Agency (FSA) Heather Hancock has announced the appointment of 11 new independent experts as members of the FSA’s Scientific Advisory Committees (SACs).

Last updated: 22 May 2020

The Science Council and SACs, supported by smaller Joint Expert Groups (JEGs), provide independent expert advice and challenge on FSA science strategy, risk assessment and in ensuring that policy decisions are based on the most up-to-date science and evidence.  

Heather Hancock, Chair of the FSA, said: 

'I am delighted to announce the appointment of such distinguished experts to our independent Science Council and Science Advisory Committees. These committees are an essential part of ensuring that we use the right science, from the right sources, and can be confident about the science and evidence base of each issue in front of us. This helps assure public confidence and trust in the work of the FSA always putting the consumer first, being independent, and working on a solid and open evidence base.'

Professor Guy Poppy, Chief Scientific Adviser at the FSA, said: 

'Our Scientific Advisory Committees play a key role in ensuring food safety and standards are informed by the best science available, to help tackle the challenges of today and address emerging risks for the future. In an increasingly complex and globalised food system, scientists and the use of scientific evidence is essential for ensuring consumers have food which is safe and trusted. We are extremely pleased to welcome new members, with an exceptional range of expertise, and I look forward to working with all of them.' 

New appointments 

Science Council (SC) 

  • Prof. Jonathan Wastling - Executive Dean of The Faculty of Natural Sciences at Keele University 

  • Claire Nicholson – Independent Consultant on consumer issues 

  • Prof. Peter Gregory – Emeritus Professor of Global Food Security at the University of Reading 

Advisory Committee on Microbiological Safety of Food (ACMSF) 

  • Dr. Nicol Janecko - Epidemiologist and microbiologist of foodborne zoonoses 

Advisory Committee on Novel Foods and Processes (ACNFP) 

  • Dr. Camilla Alexander-White – (Chair ACNFP) Programme Manager in environment and regulation at the Royal Society of Chemistry  

  • Prof. Susan Jane Fairweather-Tait - Human Nutrition (Mineral Metabolism). 

  • Prof. Wendy Harwood - Crop Transformation Group at the John Innes Centre, Norwich 

  • Dr. Anton Alldrick - Special Projects Manager within the Science Division at Campden BRI  

Committee on Toxicity (COT)

  • Prof. Phillippe Wilson – Associate Professor and Reader in Biological Chemistry and Cheminformatics in the Leicester School of Pharmacy at De Montfort University 

  • Dr. Jenny Odum (Food Contact Materials - JEG) – Toxicologist and expert in the field of endocrine disruption 

  • Mrs. Christine McAlinden (Animal Feed and Feed Additives - JEG) – Toxicologist and Associate Director toXcel International Ltd 

The recruitment exercise was carried out through open competition. New members have been appointed for initial terms of three years, with the possibility of reappointment following this.