Appointment of a Chair, new members and reappointment of three existing members for COT

Last updated:
29 January 2015
Committee on Toxicity logo
FSA Chair Tim Bennett has announced on behalf of the FSA, the Chief Medical Officer Professor Dame Sally Davies and the Chief Medical Officers in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, the appointment of a Chair, and one new and three* existing members for the Committee on Toxicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and the Environment (COT).

The Chair is Professor Alan Boobis and the new member is Dr James Coulson. Their term of office will run from Wednesday 1 April 2015 to Saturday 31 March 2018.

The three re-appointees' have had their terms of appointment extended as follows:

  • Professors Faith Williams (Professor of Toxicology) 1st April to 31 March 2018
  • Professor Roy Harrison (Professor of Environmental Health) 1st April to 31 March 2018
  • Professor Brian Lake (Head of Molecular Sciences) 1st April to 31 March 2018

Tim Bennett said: 'The COT provides independent, authoritative, expert advice on all aspects of chemical toxicity to the Government and the Chief Medical Officer and I greatly value the important contribution the committee makes in the development of health and safety policy in the UK.'

* updated from two to three since original publication