

## New members appointed to join Scientific Advisory Committees

The <u>SACs</u>, supported by the <u>Joint Expert Groups</u> (JEGs), provide independent expert advice and challenge on FSA science strategy, risk assessment and in ensuring that policy decisions are based on the most up-to-date science and evidence.

Dr. Ruth Hussey, Interim Chair of the FSA, said:

'I am pleased to announce these new appointments to our Scientific Advisory Committees. As an independent Government department, the Food Standards Agency is responsible for protecting public health in relation to food, ensuring food is safe and what it says it is. We rely on these committees to help us ensure we are using the best and most up to date science to inform our evidence base on food safety issues. The independent expertise they can offer is invaluable in ensuring we can maintain our high standard of food safety and consumer protection.'

Prof. Robin May, Chief Scientific Adviser at the FSA, added:

'The Food Standards Agency's commitment to science and evidence underpins all of our policy-making. Now that the UK has left the EU, there is an even greater need for the science demanded by and from the FSA. This can range from strategic advice on new scientific methods to risk assessments on novel foods. The collective expertise of our science committees is invaluable in helping to shape government policy in England, Wales and Northern Ireland and I very much look forward to working with the new members.'

## **New appointments**

Advisory Committee on Microbiological Safety of Food (ACMSF)

 Prof. Linda Scobie, Department of Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Glasgow Caledonian University

Advisory Committee on Novel Foods and Processes (ACNFP)

- Prof. Hans Verhagen, owner and consultant, Food Safety and Nutrition Consultancy
- Dr. Elizabeth Lund, independent consultant in nutrition and research ethics and Honorary Senior Lecturer, University of East Anglia
- Mrs Alison Austin OBE, independent consultant in sustainability

Committee on Toxicity (COT)

- Dr. Simon Wilkinson, Health Protection Research Unit, Newcastle University
- Prof. Shirley Price, Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences, University of Surrey
- Prof. Thorhallur Ingi Halldorsson, Faculty of Food Science and Nutrition, University of Iceland

## Animal Food and Feed Additives Joint Expert Group (AFFAJEG)

- Mr. Derek Renshaw, independent toxicologist
- Prof. Matthew Fisher, Faculty of Medicine, School of Public Health, Imperial College London
- Dr. Donald Morrison, School of Applied Sciences, Edinburgh Napier University
- Dr. Helen Warren, Technical Manager, Alltech
- Dr. Adam Smith, Market Development Manager, DSM Animal Nutrition and Health

The recruitment exercise was carried out through open competition. New members have been appointed for initial terms of three years, with the possibility of reappointment.