

FSA Scientific Advisory Committees welcome twelve new members

The Science Council and SACs, supported by Joint Expert Groups (JEGs), provide independent expert advice and challenge on FSA science strategy, risk assessment and in ensuring that policy decisions are based on the most up-to-date science and evidence. They cover issues such as novel foods, toxicity, animal feed, pathogens, pesticides and social science.

Professor Susan Jebb, Chair of the FSA said:

I am delighted to welcome so many distinguished experts to the FSA's independent Science Advisory Committees. We are proud that our work is grounded in science and the committees play an important role in helping us to give the public confidence and trust in the work of the FSA. We are very conscious of the amount of work that this entails and grateful to them for sharing their valuable time and expertise with us. Together we can make sure food is safe and is what it says it is.

Professor Robin May, Chief Scientific Adviser at the FSA, commented:

Robust scientific analysis is critical to ensure safety within a complex food system, especially at a time of emerging geopolitical challenges. The FSA's Scientific Advisory Committees play an invaluable role in this process, providing expert advice on food safety and standards, as well as horizon scanning for emerging risks in the future. We are extremely pleased to welcome these new members, who bring with them an exceptional range of expertise, and I very much look forward to working with all of them.

New appointments

Science Council (SC)

- Prof. Michael Tildesley Associate Professor at the University of Warwick
- Prof. Simon Pearson Professor of Agri-food technology at the University of Lincoln
- Prof. Peter Borriello CB Fellow of University College London

Advisory Committee on Microbiological Safety of Food (ACMSF)

- Dr. Dragan Antic Senior lecturer in Veterinary Public Health in The Institute of Veterinary Science, University of Liverpool
- Prof. Cath Rees Professor of Microbiology in the School of Biosciences, University of Nottingham

Advisory Committee on Novel Foods and Processes (ACNFP)

- Dr. Andy Greenfield Honorary Research Lecturer at the Nuffield Dept of Women's & Reproductive Health, University of Oxford
- Dr. Bruce Whitelaw Deputy Director and Director of Partnerships at The Roslin Institute and Professor of Animal Biotechnology at the Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies
- Dr. Ray Kemp Specialises in risk management and communication for Health, Safety and Environmental issues. He has experience representing the lay member on several government committees and consumer panels
- Prof. Dimitris Charalampopoulos Professor of Biotechnology at the University of Reading

Committee on Toxicity (COT)

 Dr. Silvia Gratz – Principal Investigator at the Rowett Institute, University of Aberdeen in the Gut Health group. Member of the Rowett Internal Ethics Review Panel (Human studies) and the Editorial board member Frontiers in Predictive Toxicity

Animal Feed and Feed Additives Joint Expert Group (AFFAJEG)

- Dr Nick Wheelhouse Member of Edinburgh Infectious Diseases, a Council member for the Society for Reproduction and Fertility, member of the Microbiology Society and a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy
- Mr Mike Salter Works for AB Agri Ltd. BBSRC/NERC SARIC funding panel as the AB Agri representative, the BBSRC Agriculture and Food Security Strategic Advisory Panel as an industrial advisor and the NERC Innovation Advisory Board as an industrial advisor

The recruitment exercise was carried out through open competition. New members have been appointed for initial terms of three years, with the possibility of reappointment following this.