Skip to main content

Wine Standards contacts

Regional contact details for the Wine Standards inspection team.
Last updated

The FSA is responsible for the enforcement of wine regulations in the UK. This covers all premises and traders within the production and marketing chain, including wholesalers, warehouses and vineyards. Retail premises come under the control of local authorities.

The Wine Standards Inspection Team can be contacted by email at winestandards@food.gov.uk or through the responsible regional inspector.

To appeal against formal enforcement action, contact the FSA’s business support team by email at business.support@food.gov.uk

Important

The Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra) has launched a digital guide covering the key actions food and drink businesses may need to take after the end of the transition period. 

The guide will host the most up to date guidance for wine producers and traders, with changes and additions made as further information is confirmed.

Wine Standards regional contacts

Wine Standards Inspection Team Leader 

Mark Dawson - mark.dawson@food.gov.uk

Central East

(Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire, Leicestershire, Rutland, Northamptonshire, Cambridgeshire, Bedfordshire, Warwickshire, Norfolk and Suffolk)

Stephen Goff - stephen.goff@food.gov.uk

Central West

(Cheshire, Staffordshire, Shropshire, Hereford & Worcestershire and West Midlands)

Brian Smith - brian.smith@food.gov.uk

Home Counties

(West Sussex, East Sussex, Kent, Essex, Hertfordshire and parts of Surrey)

Matthew Dalton - matthew.dalton@food.gov.uk

London

(Within the M25)

Liz Gillies - liz.gillies@food.gov.uk

North, North Wales and Northern Ireland

(Northumberland, Tyne & Wear, Durham, Cumbria, Cleveland, Yorkshire, Lancashire, Humberside, Greater Manchester, Clwyd, Gwynedd, Anglesey and Northern Ireland)

Andrew Westwell - andrew.westwell@food.gov.uk

South West and South Wales

(Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Somerset, Wiltshire, Hampshire, Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Gloucestershire and South Wales)

Andy Kilby - andy.kilby@food.gov.uk

Other useful contacts

Wine businesses may also find the following contacts of use.

Trade bodies

Government