Skip to main content
English Cymraeg

Appointments to the Agency’s Northern Ireland Food Advisory Committee

Northern Ireland

The Food Standards Agency is pleased to announce the appointment of three new members to the Northern Ireland Food Advisory Committee (NIFAC).

Last updated: 26 May 2021

The appointments of Ellen Finlay, Cathal McDonnell and Dr Lynne McMullan were made by Health Minister Robin Swann last month. 

This Advisory Committee is an independent advisory body to the Food Standards Agency and is chaired by Colm Mckenna, the FSA Board member for Northern Ireland. 

The Committee comprises independent experts who are selected for their experience and practical knowledge of areas such as food industry, agriculture, food-related science, enforcement and consumer interests. Its role is to advise the Agency on food safety and standards issues.  

Colm McKenna said: “I am extremely pleased to welcome our new members to the Committee. 

“They will be a great asset to the Committee as they bring a breadth of knowledge and experience across many disciplines such as food safety, sustainable food production, food poverty, education and valuable experience of the community, voluntary and private sectors.  

“I look forward to working with all of them as we continue to shape and develop food related policy in Northern Ireland.” 

More information about the work of the Committee and biographies for the new members can be found on the Northern Ireland Food Advisory Committee pages.